CTD with no error report at game start

CTD with no error report at game start

Postby BriTheGhost » 25 August 2011, 00:14

Hi there,
After generating a character i go to play the game but i get a ctd straight to the desktop. no eror report is generated. all my drivers are updated. I run crysis 2 on high no problems also several other new games eg. fear3, dragon age 2, fallout new vegas. all on high with no problems at all. I checked the other threads in this forum but no real answers other than driver updates. some help would be appreciated. thank you
Bri.

I am running Win 7 64 bit home premium
2x nvidia 9500gt
nforce 680i lt mobo
4 gb memory
User avatar
BriTheGhost
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 25 August 2011, 00:01

Re: CTD with no error report at game start

Postby romfromfocus » 26 August 2011, 08:13

Hello BriTheGhost,

Where have you bought the game?

Please configure Faery in order the run the game in administrator mode:
1. Open Computer then Local Disk (C:).
2. Open Program Files or Program Files (x86) folder.
3. Open the Faery - Legends of Avalon folder.
4. Right mouse click 'Faery.exe' application file Faery icon) and click Properties.
5. Click Compatibility tab.
6. Check 'Run this program as an administrator' and click OK button.
7. Run the game.

Since it crashes when the 3D game is loading it may be usefull to check the graphics card driver.
http://www.nvidia.com/object/win7-winvi ... river.html

A computer diagnosis is necessary:
WINDOWS VISTA/WINDOWS 7
1. Click on the Windows Start button or press Windows and R keys.
2. Type DXDIAG in the Search bar (bottom left) or in Run window and press Enter key.
3. When the DirectX Diagnostic Tool window comes up, click 'Save All Information' button.
4. Save the DXDIAG report file somewhere convenient like the Desktop (you have to be able to find it).
5. Send us an e-mail by clicking the Attachment button and by adding the DXDIAG text file from the Desktop.

Then, we need you send us the .dmp file located in C:\Users\Your_PC_Name\Documents\Faery - Legends of Avalon
It looks like this: "Faery_24-08-2011_12-00-20_dump_12-01-26.dmp"
It will help the developers to see the issue.

Please send those files to support@focus-home.com
romfromfocus
Administrateur
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 04 April 2011, 17:04

Re: CTD with no error report at game start

Postby BriTheGhost » 26 August 2011, 14:29

Email with requested data sent.
User avatar
BriTheGhost
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 25 August 2011, 00:01

Re: CTD with no error report at game start

Postby odega » 27 August 2011, 23:03

Just purchased the game from Gamersgate and I've got a similar issue :( The game crashes a few seconds after launch. All drivers are updated (Nvidia260gtx) and I did run it as an admin. Is there a patch I missed? I would send you the requested "Faery_24-08-2011_12-00-20_dump_12-01-26.dmp" file but it's empty (0 kb)! Very frustrating, please help.
odega
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 27 August 2011, 22:50

Re: CTD with no error report at game start

Postby blablabla » 29 August 2011, 16:29

Hi guys,
got the same problems.
Win7 64bit ultimate, gfx driver update, installed and reinstalled physix, admin mode, compatibility modes (winxp sp3, vista sp1)
nothing seems to work.
However, i seem to have found a workaround (which at least works for me).
Theres a file called graphicconfig.txt located in your Documents -> Feary - Legends of Avalon Folder.
After switching to windowed mode (replaced WINDOWED=0 with WINDOWED=1) everything seems to be fine.
Id rather play fullscreen, but at least i can play now.

regards,
Bla
blablabla
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 29 August 2011, 16:18

Re: CTD with no error report at game start

Postby odega » 29 August 2011, 19:11

Hey Bla,

I tried that, it worked.. for a few second extra... the game came crashing again while in character creation. Got windows vista 32bits here. I take it you have an Nividia card as well?
odega
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 27 August 2011, 22:50

Re: CTD with no error report at game start

Postby ColJP » 29 August 2011, 20:03

romfromfocus wrote:Hello BriTheGhost,

Where have you bought the game?

Please configure Faery in order the run the game in administrator mode:
1. Open Computer then Local Disk (C:).
2. Open Program Files or Program Files (x86) folder.
3. Open the Faery - Legends of Avalon folder.
4. Right mouse click 'Faery.exe' application file Faery icon) and click Properties.
5. Click Compatibility tab.
6. Check 'Run this program as an administrator' and click OK button.
7. Run the game.

Since it crashes when the 3D game is loading it may be usefull to check the graphics card driver.
http://www.nvidia.com/object/win7-winvi ... river.html

A computer diagnosis is necessary:
WINDOWS VISTA/WINDOWS 7
1. Click on the Windows Start button or press Windows and R keys.
2. Type DXDIAG in the Search bar (bottom left) or in Run window and press Enter key.
3. When the DirectX Diagnostic Tool window comes up, click 'Save All Information' button.
4. Save the DXDIAG report file somewhere convenient like the Desktop (you have to be able to find it).
5. Send us an e-mail by clicking the Attachment button and by adding the DXDIAG text file from the Desktop.

Then, we need you send us the .dmp file located in C:\Users\Your_PC_Name\Documents\Faery - Legends of Avalon
It looks like this: "Faery_24-08-2011_12-00-20_dump_12-01-26.dmp"
It will help the developers to see the issue.

Please send those files to support@focus-home.com


Same thing here, the game crashes in the main menu, creating a new character or changing settings.

Done all that was requested without any luck, sent a Dxdiag to support but I don't have any "Faery_24-08-2011_12-00-20_dump_12-01-26.dmp" file in my Documentes, only default profile and grafic config txt file.

I can't run the game in PC only in the Xbox 360.

:(
User avatar
ColJP
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 29 August 2011, 19:29

Re: CTD with no error report at game start

Postby BriTheGhost » 30 August 2011, 11:38

To the tech support staff, could we please get an update on the progress of fixing our problem with the game. Either on here or by email.
I have done everything suggested to no avail.
thank you,
Bri
User avatar
BriTheGhost
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 25 August 2011, 00:01

Re: CTD with no error report at game start

Postby blablabla » 31 August 2011, 19:02

Hi Odega,
yer right, theres more to it. i honestly dont remember everything i played around with, but im bug free for now.
ill give you what i have though im pretty certain i miss something.

Compatibility -> vista sp1, run as admin, disable desktop + visual
config ->
WINDOWED=1
RESX=1920
RESY=1080
REFRESHRATE=60

dxdiag:
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.110622-1506)
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 870 @ 2.93GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.9GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 64bit Unicode
---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460
Display Memory: 4066 MB
Current Mode: 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: W2261
Native Mode: 1920 x 1080(p) (59.934Hz)
Driver Version: 8.17.12.8026

Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460
Display Memory: 4066 MB
Current Mode: 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: P246H
Native Mode: 1920 x 1080(p) (60.000Hz)
Driver Version: 8.17.12.8026

regards,
Bla
blablabla
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 29 August 2011, 16:18

Re: CTD with no error report at game start

Postby odega » 01 September 2011, 14:41

Bla,

Thank you very much, it seems now to be working for me too !
What I did:

Modified graphicconfig.txt:

Changed REFRESHRATE=0 to REFRESHRATE=60 (why was is set to 0, duh?)
Set WINDOWED=1
My resolution is different from yours, but np.

Like this, it still crashed.
I then checked disable desktop composition and visual theme in the compatibility tab.

And it works.

Thanks again.
odega
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 27 August 2011, 22:50

Next

Return to Technical Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron